First Tax Filing for LLC - DIY?

3 Replies

Hi all. I would like to know if I can file my LLC business tax return myself? Here are my details, which to me seem as simple as possible so wondering what my options are.

Set up LLC in Jan 11, 2018 - WA is home address with 2 homes in TN.
Purchased 2 homes (cash) -- June
Set up bank account for LLC
1 home rented, 1 vacant
Transferred titles for 2 homes into LLC (Sept)
** LLC has 2 operators, myself and my wife, no additional employees
** To date I have not set up any actual transactions. Aka all rent is coming into my personal account.

I am a noob here but after 2 estimates cost to file is around $1500-$1700. Because I don't have many properties this feels very expensive and eats into my cash flow. Anyway I can do this myself OR is this something too complex for a non-expert?

@Kristoffer Bergen

I'm assuming the only members of the LLC are you and/or your wife. If so you should be able to avoid a partnership return and file on Schedule E of your 1040, assuming the rental doesn't provide substantial services, as WA is a community property state.

"Hi all. I would like to know if I can file my LLC business tax return myself?"

To answer your question, I'd pose a question to you: are you aware that you have exposure to TN's Franchise & Excise tax due to the rental activity in TN during 2018?

If you did not know this, you may be in "hire a professional" territory.  You don't know what you don't know...

Generally speaking there are exemption's from the TN F&E tax for rental activities of small, family held businesses, but it is dependent on fact and circumstances of the taxpayer.  And an exemption still requires filing with the TN DOR.

"I am a noob here but after 2 estimates cost to file is around $1500-$1700. Because I don't have many properties this feels very expensive and eats into my cash flow."