Questions to ask a CPA?

38 Replies

Since we are approaching tax season, and I am new to investing, I figure it would be a good idea to look/interview for a CPA?

Do you have any qualifying questions I should ask?

I figure one pre-qualifiying question would be if they have real estate investments themselves. Aside from that I am at a loss, any help much appreciated.

I remember seeing another thread, where someone said not to be too concerned with the CPA portion of those creditentials. Do BP'ers agree?

Thanks,
Keith

Not all CPA's are the same. I had one CPA that was an older, knowledgeable, nice guy. However he was not real aggressive. I wanted someone like Diane Kennedy.

I found another, more aggressive CPA but he was in another state. Getting feedback from him was difficult.

Last year I found a young, local guy. He asks me good questions and sends me updates about the laws periodically. I like him so far.

Keith,

I have compiled a list of questions that you can select which are most pertinent to your situation:

What was the most recent CE course you took and when?
What subject is/are your academic degree(s) in?
What is your specialty (tax accounting, tax representation, etc.)
How long have you been practicing?
How many clients do you have?
What percentage of your practice today is in real estate?
Have you represented clients in front of the IRA, and what is your success rate?
Will you share a reference(s) from your current client who runs a business similar to mine?
Will you share a reference who can speak to your representation before the IRA?
How can you or your professional network help me with entity structuring, retirement/estate planning, business analysis, etc.?
Help you define the appropriate business structures, both from a legal protection and from a financial/tax perspective
Help you create a tax strategy for your business that will allow you to legally keep as much money as you possibly can