Finding the right CPA

6 Replies

Hello,

I am relatively new to bigger pockets and real estate investing. Some background, I'm active duty military and recently purchased my first rental property. This property is currently rented, with the start date of June 2019. My family and I used a house hacking strategy and plan on continuing this strategy moving forward. This is the first year my wife and I contemplated using a CPA Vs. H&R Block, which is our usual method. Also, we have not formed an LLC but plan to within the next two years.

Question:

1. How should I search for a CPA with a focus on real estate and military?

2. What are the risks of not having a local CPA?

- we move every two or three years.

3. Is it worth hiring a CPA with only one rental property?

4. How much does normal CPA services run and is it a upfront amount Vs. monthly?

5. Curious: when should I form an LLC?

6. What states are the best to form them?

Thank you ALL in advance!

Sincerely Josh

Hi Josh, welcome to BP & congrats on wading into the REI world.

Also - it goes w/out saying but thank you for your service.

Question:

1. How should I search for a CPA with a focus on real estate and military?   I would exhaust and get very familiar w/your military benefits.  Here is a GREAT article that just came out (my BF is ex military & I've been helping him get hooked up w/an SBA loan & he's said "They need to teach a class on this - I had no idea this stuff was out here for us.)   Here is the article:  https://www.forbes.com/sites/allbusiness/2019/11/09/veterans-entrepreneurs-small-business-support-programs/#67ae7aef33a3

I can vouch that Boots to Business has a ton of resources they can direct you too.  We were given a list, met with a guy two towns over & he gave him so much great advice on a business plan, options, including veteran-rates that are awesome.  SBAvets.force.com