• Wholesaler
  • Wayne, NJ
Votes |
New Jersey Resident Doing Wholesale Deals in NY

Dave Pricken
  • Wholesaler
  • Wayne, NJ
Posted Dec 12 2019, 21:23

Hi, I have a wholesale deal closing in NY and I live in NJ. I created a NY LLC for my wholesale deals, but want to get the money back to an LLC that I have in NJ. Should I take the funds/profits from the wholesale deal to my NJ LLC and pay the out of state taxes, or should I take the funds/profits into my NY LLC and then have that LLC pay my NJ LLC?

Sorry, I'm kind of new at this. 

Thanks.          Dave

User Stats

Votes
Kyle Holmes
  • Attorney
  • Philadelphia, PA
Votes |
  • Attorney
  • Philadelphia, PA
Replied Dec 12 2019, 21:58

@Dave Pricken I don't believe it would matter because either way you'd pay NY state tax to NY LLC and NJ state income tax on the jersey LLC. I know Philly has a city wage tax for NJ residents who work here and live outside the state so that may have some bearing. Question for you. How do you find buyers for wholesale deals?

User Stats

Votes
Dave Pricken
  • Wholesaler
  • Wayne, NJ
Votes |
  • Wholesaler
  • Wayne, NJ
Replied Dec 13 2019, 05:56

Thanks for the info.   Just looking to minimize my tax burden. I did a wholesale deal in NY under just my name and they hit me for almost 33% tax at closing. That reduced my take-home amount considerably. I keep a separate savings account with extra funding and pay my taxes at the end of the year, but it's nice to have that floating cash if anything good comes up.   

I have always found that if you really have a great deal to sell, the buyers come out of the woodwork. Seems most wholesalers don't "earn" their share and just offer marginal deals that other investors could pay retail off the MLS for.

BiggerPockets logo
Find, Vet and Invest in Syndications
|
BiggerPockets
PassivePockets will help you find sponsors, evaluate deals, and learn how to invest with confidence.

User Stats

Votes
Basit Siddiqi
Pro Member