Credit Repair

14 Replies

I know this dead horse has been beaten plenty of times, but as stated in my only prior post I am just beginning my investor career. I am finally in a place where Ive been paying all bills on time for 4+ years, my wife and I have decent income and we are saving on a regular basis and keeping our expenses well within a reasonable area. The only problem - old collection accounts on my report, and my wifes income is stead but part time. Because my score was 616 I couldnt be on the loan it would have to be her alone, Im fairly confident we will be denied, even though I know we can afford what we are looking for. My debts are old but they still hurt me so I've been researching credit repair. What does anyone know about Pay for Delete (PFD) letters or other avenues to not restore this debt but find a way to satisfy it sooner without extending the time it lingers on my account. I want to pay the debt now but I'm afraid this will only cause me more suffering.

Sorry for the long story but I need some guidance here.

I would contact the old debts one at a time as you save up some money and negotiate a settlement in full. It will take some time.  You don't need a 'credit repair' company to do this or pay for delete.  Get the settlement amount in writing before you send money and don't allow them access to your checking acct.  The older the debt, the more you can negotiate away. Good luck @Josh Tonecha

I agree with Steve...don't pay any credit repair agency a dime which you can do yourself. I was in your shoes years ago, get them paid and your credit will improved. There is no magical repair tactics to fix your credit over night. It took me several years to repair my credit doing it myself. Start contacting them and paying them off one by one and your credit will improve. Make sure you get it in writing that the debt was paid in full. 

Good Luck!