Could have all three rentals paid off in 3yrs should I?

11 Replies

I am a firefighter and started a second full-time job with purpose of increasing income so that I can buy more property, reduce current toxic debt(any debt that doesn't pay for itself) and paying off the 3 rentals that I currently have so that I can take and borrow on them again to buy more rentals. Was wondering if this is the best route to go or would it be better to use extra money to give me and my wife's ira and 401k a big boost. I am only going to do this 2nd job for 3 years and I know the first year is going to consist of getting out of the toxic debt so that leaves 2 years of either paying off rentals or investing heavily into ira and 401k...

Just my 02 cents... Mortgage rates are really low and the stock market is near all time highs. RE deals are not easy to find but they are still out there. My focus would be on RE. You have a pension as a fireman so I would keep the 401k on the back burner. I don't feel great about the underlying economy supporting the current stock market spike. I max out everything but I am expecting a correction.

My advice is to talk to some professionals that are not trying to sell you something.

@Marquis W.

If yo contribute the rest of the funds to your retirement accounts then they can later be transferred to a self-directed IRA or 401k that allow for self-directed investments such as real estate. The IRS code specifically states that retirement accounts can invest in real estate not just equities.

http://www.irs.gov/Retirement-Plans/Retirement-Pla...