Pay off debt first before investing?

7 Replies

Hello BP!!

This is my first post. I've become interested in real estate after talking with a friend about how to get more cash flow. I've been reading many posts and listening to podcasts daily on BP. My goal is to work no more than 40 hours/week at my normal job and still be able to provide for my young family. My normal job brings in $58K. My wife does not work and we have a good amount of "stupid" debt (credit cards/hospital bills/student loans) and
very much in savings and fair credit. I'm an electrician by trade and a military veteran. I'm interested in buying and flipping and maybe even owning a couple rentals in the near future.

My main question is should I pay off my debt before
looking into investing? Thanks in advance!

Travis

I would pay enough debt down in order to raise your credit score so you can qualify for the best financing options. Then I might look to decide whether to jump into an investment or pay off more debt. The debt does nothing for you but if some of it is cheap debt you may want to hold onto that and not let it stand in your way. Get rid of the high interested stuff so you can put your money to work for you. Don't be in a rush to jump into REI for cashflow because things don't always work out was wonderful as we plan them. Make sure you are on solid ground before you take a stab.

@Travis Billings it depends on what the debt is.  If we are talking credit cards - yes! If it's a mortgage or student loan under 5%, not necessarily. My default answer is always debut but really its a case by case decision.  What is the interest rate on the debt/s and how much do you owe? 

@Travis Billings I would focus on the most expensive debt first and that is usually credit cards.

Loaners seems to be less concerned with college debt and it's usually a low interest.