New investor Do I consolidate debt?

6 Replies

So I am new to investing and have been working hard on my credit. I have 2 judgements against me. I talked to both and one is willing to accept half. I am considering getting a personal loan and consolidating them that will take them out of judgment and put my credit back on tract. I have been paying both regularly for over a year. These two issues were what has been keeping me back from getting a home. Is this a good idea? How long after I consolidate will it take my credit to improve? 

Second question:

I have looked owner financing through realtor.com, craigslist, zillow, and a few other sites but I cannot find any. Where would you recommend I look or how should I search to find these opportunities?

For your first question: there are a lot of different opinions on this. Mathematically you are usually better off consolidating under a single loan, but many people find it more emotionally satisfying to be able to clear out the debts one at a time. Dave Ramsey, for example, strongly recommends the latter strategy.

For your second question: I rarely find anyone ADVERTISING that they are willing to finance, but if you look for places that are "for sale by owner" they are more likely to work with you on financing in my experience. It never hurts to ask.

@Christopher Andrews welcome to BP!

Debt consolidation by itself does not improve your credit. The benefits of consolidation are to move high interest debt to a lower interest rate and to change the terms of the debt repayment to lower your monthly debt payments to free up cash flow.

Debt consolidation can be part of your overall get-out-of-debt plan, but I encourage you to be skeptical of anyone offering debt consolidation loans. They all preach as though they are in business to help you get out of debt, but most of them will take advantage of you if they can. Shop around!