Cashing out your Roth and Mutual Fund IRA’s

7 Replies

This is my first post to the BP forum. I’m a newbie here and have spent the past several weeks reading, learning, and listening as much as I can! I haven’t officially introduced myself yet, since my husband and I will be moving soon, but don’t know where yet (retiring from the military). I’ll definitely do it as soon as we know, so that I can make it easier to get connected with local people. My husband and I are ready to get out of the Rat Race and the middle class mindset and get into real estate investing. (Thank you, BP!!) My question is: who here has cashed in their Roth and/or mutual fund IRA’s to begin REI and never looked back? Obviously there will be tax implications, but I think we’re willing to take the hit if this could give us a good jump start.

Updated 9 months ago

Yikes! I was having difficulty with my app and wound up posting the same thread 3 times. So sorry!​

@Colleen Jobe

Welcome to BiggerPockets and thank you for your service in the military!

In my personal experience, I wouldn't recommend you cash out your Roth and mutual funds/ retirement accounts. Did you know you could use your IRA/ Roth/ Retirement account to invest in real estate? There are many investors who have found success using the IRA to own/hold real estate investments. You can do this through the use of a self-directed IRA.

I would be happy to connect and discuss more if you have any questions.

@Carl Fischer

Thanks for your reply! I'll connect with you and send you a message, as I do have a few questions about the SDIRA. 

@Colleen Jobe

Your welcome. Send a PM or call the office number in my profile. We will be glad to help.