hard money loan used as downpayment for bank loan (new constructi

2 Replies

Hi, i'm new to hard money lending and am considering a deal where I'd loan 150k (gated for land purchase, arch plans, grading, foundation). Once the bank loan goes through I would be second position which I know is not ideal. I've tried to make sense of NC foreclosure laws and figure out if I would have a right to pay out the bank in the case of foreclosure but it appears more like the bank would foreclose and if there was enough money, my debt would be repaid.

Is this a foolish loan?  Could I use other real property not involved in the loan to act as collateral once I move to second position or from the beginning? 

Hi Dana -- First and foremost, I would make sure you fully understand the value of the property you're lending on. Land deals can be a fickle beast, as the value is often times linked to whether you can get it perked, entitled, etc. If that doesn't happen it could drastically reduce the projected value and put you and the banks loan at risk. If you feel confident that the property value is more than enough to cover your loan and the banks loan, that at the very least is a good start.