'Set for Life' First Year Results - Any other successes?

12 Replies

Hi all, I'm relatively new to the FI/real estate investing path but am excited to begin seeing some progress in the journey! I graduated from school about 2 years ago and one of the first personal finance books I read a year ago I read Scott Trench's 'Set for Life' and I'm excited to share my first year results.

I purchased a 2B2B townhouse February 2018 and converted the den into a 3rd bedroom. I got 2 of my friends to move in and started to net about $100 per month! This allowed me to significantly cut my living expenses allowing me to achieve a savings rate of about 60% post-tax. I've saved up about $24k in liquid capital which I plan on using to purchase another property this year.

I've also been tracking my net worth quarterly have found that I've been able to increase my net worth by about 17-20% per quarter by saving, investing, and taking advantage of my company's stock purchase plan/401K matching/etc.

It's extremely encouraging to see my savings increase so drastically in a short amount of time. I'll admit that I'm a bit obsessive when it comes to tracking my expenses but I want to know if anyone else has other success stories related to personal finance. I'd love to hear them and to get more inspiration to continue saving and investing!

@Lisa Irimata way to go! I think that is awesome that you have already started your investing career right out of college. Way to pull off the house hack.

I have had a lot of great experiences when it come to applying things that I have read in personal finance books. My favorite personal finance book is The Richest Man in Babylon. It is the foundational book for many about money. Right now I’m reading a book called The Millionaire Fastlane by MJ DeMarco and it is really insightful (if I you can look past the occasional crude remarks and the swearing).