Trouble finding Houston (TX) Rental Property Insurance

18 Replies

Hi, I recently converted my mom's old house into a rental property in Houston TX (Harris county and it’s somewhat near the gulf). However, I'm having a really hard time finding home insurance. The only quote I was able to get was from the Texas Fair Plan. But this plan does not offer any liability coverage; I was wondering if anyone else had or are having similar problem. If so, what options are you considering or go with. I'm pretty new at this landlord and never had issues finding insurance for my primary residence. I really appreciate all the knowledgeable folks here at BiggerPockets and can use any advice for a rookie.

Thanks in advance for any advice

What has the feedback from the agent's you've talked been? Have they given a reason why they won't insure it? Proximity to coast, Age, your past claims history etc?

Here's some companies others on BP have recommended to me for non-owner occupied property insurance, although I've yet to contact them:

.http://www.nreinsurance.com/ National Real Estate Insurance Group

.Asset protection in Castroville, TX. (Lisa Goodner) 877-752-2742

.Benchmark Insurance Group at www.insuretxonline.com

.Safeco and Foremost are two companies that write landlord policies.

.I use Allstate on my rentals in Indiana, so I'd give them a call too.

Good luck!

The house is like most houses on the street, built in the 60s. Mainly the agent told was that most insurance companies think its too much risk to issue new policies.

Thanks Sharon, I'll give those companies a call.

This post has been removed.

@Peter Logan  , curious who you ended up going with.  I've been calling around for the last week or so trying to get a decent rate on a policy for a property in Harris County as well.  Some companies won't insure because of its proximity the coast/storm risk and others have provided quotes between $1,800 and $3,000.  Yikes.

Tag.