When do I pay 1st month rent on a apt im going to lease?

5 Replies

Hello everyone!

So tomorrow i'm going to meet up with the landlord to sign a lease on an apartment.He is asking me to pay for the application fee and he is also asking for first months rent. This is my first time renting/leasing so i don't know if i'm new at this but wouldn't i give the first months rent after i get approved and not before?I just feel nervous just handing a random guy money. I have no criminal background,excellent credit and a good job so i don't think ill have a problem with the application. But what if they deny me?The landlord says if they deny me he will return the money but like i said why doesn't he just wait till they approve me then give him first months rent? Also is there a legal document anyone has that will state if i give him first months rent and get denied i will get my money back.

Thank you

Are you meeting him to sign the lease or are you meeting him to fill out the application? If you're signing the lease then yes it's normal to give him the money cause you'd already be approved.

If you're meeting him to do the application then yes some landlords require you to submit a deposit equal to one months rent to know that you are serious cause if you back out after you are approved they likely have it written that they get to keep it.

Just make sure you get something in writing, don't pay with cash and maybe do a little background search on the landlord or PM.

I'm meeting the landlord to him give the money for the background check and for first months rent.

The process is typically, application and application fee, then approval, then sign lease, then finally the money changes hands. Note: Credit laws require the application be signed so don't confuse signing the application with signing the lease.