Property tax on rental question

21 Replies

Hey guys,

I am new to the REI scene so take it easy on me! I have been soaking up all the info on the website for the past couple months but have yet to find good solid info about property taxes for rentals. I just submitted an offer for a single family (Fannie Mae) property in Columbia SC. My understanding is that property taxes are almost triple the cost for rental properties ($2700 for this particular property). So my question is, will all of my deductions/tax advantages offset this horrible number?? I am assuming so or it would be very difficult for investors to own so many rental properties.I just wanted to run it by the professionals. Thanks guys!

Welcome to BP and please keep me informed on the Camaro project.

Property taxes rates for rentals are going to vary state to state. In Indiana where I invest we have a 2% property tax cap. So as an investor, I don't get any property tax deductions, but the 2% cap helps keep taxes under control.

Here is the Beacon website, I only see 2 counties listed for SC

If you county is listed I may be able to show you a link that can calculate taxes on properties your looking at. Or at least help you figure out how to calculate them.

here in Florida we have homestead laws that give a significant deduction on property taxes as well as limit increases for your PRIMARY home. Investment property is subject to market value assessment. Fortunately, taxes are still very low here in Tampa. If you are working with a Realtor, they should have plenty of insight into the historical tax records but if there are specific laws in your jurisdiction regarding taxation for investment property you will definately need to research it. I would start by calling the assessors office.

David DuCille, Real Estate Agent in FL (#sl3293872)

@Aaron Sizemore: