cost to rehab individual apts?

8 Replies

I have a 6 unit multi-family in Newark NJ and now looking at long term goals. Some of the units are in real need of updates. So figure as a tenant leaves will then update apartments Trying to assess costs of renovations.
1. new kitchen

2. new bathroom

3. new flooring- thinking of putting tiles with new plywood underneath

4. potentially new electric wiring

5. paint job

These are approx 500 to 600 sq foot apartments.

How much do you think improvements like this will cost me?

Not planning on doing anything with walls (at least all of them seem ok other than painting).

Are you doing any of the work yourself or contractors for everything?

contract everything.

How big is the bathroom and how many cabinets in the kitchen... its newark so i am guessing you arent doing high end stainless steel etc... My thoughts and i am a newbie but i would do scratch and dent appliances from depot for $1000.

The cabinets in a small kitchen i would say $1500. Paint you can get a guy to do it for $1000-$1500 (depends on how hard it is to get a contractor or laborer in the area)

I did my 500 sq ft floors with laminant for $1750 all in ...

Really depends on the specifics and finding the right guys who need to fill their time and will come in and knock it out quick...

My good friend lives on Godwin in Ridgewood...beautiful community.

I don't have costs for NJ but one line struck fear in the heart of any remodel budget, "potentially new electric wiring". Here a 6 unit building requires a professional engineer to prepare a drawing with their stamp for the addition of even one 20 amp breaker to the panel. So your first unit you might have several thousand in just securing a permit to add an outlet in the kitchen.