Should I create an LLC?

11 Replies

I currently own one single family rental property and am looking to purchase a duplex or a triplex next to rent out. Would it be in my best interest to create an LLC?

I'm a newbie here and am looking for all the guidance I can get.

No.  I own three, am working to acquire number 4 and still have yet to form one.  I thought I needed one due to the "gurus" and their fear based sales pitch.  Fortunately, I consulted two good attorneys I have dealt with in the past and they both advised it would not really accomplish anything for me.  

That said, every situation is different and you should at least get a free consul with an attorney or so.   Most likely though, you will find out plenty of liability insurance will be more than adequate.  Additionally, getting financing in your own name is easier and cheaper than with a corporate entity.

Could you elaborate on "plenty of liability insurance" and how this differentiates between regular insurance?

Thanks.

@MichaelMcdermott

@ChrisSimmons

YES you do need a LLC, The question you should be asking is WHEN do I need one?

The answer to this lies in you! it's call Risk tolerance, How much wealth and equity you have built up and how much are you willing to lose. 

Example: If I had a rental unit that I just got a $100,000 loan on and and I rented my own house and had no net worth to speak of then I would not get a llc. Now if I had the same unit with maybe $50,000 in equity and I had a net worth of say another $50,000, and owned my own house for the last 5 years, now I would not want to lose that so I would get a llc.

Your LLC is kinda like insurance but not. It's there to protect your other assets not like normal insurance were it covers you for a certain amount of loss. Liability insurance will not protect your other assets.

I personal keep 3-6 properties per LLC depending on numbers. I have been saved by my LLC twice in the last 20 years and so glade I got one.