Rental Property manager in Suffolk, VA

8 Replies

I am new to rental property. I recently moved from Suffolk, VA and I am renting my house in Suffolk, VA. I have posted the property on Zillow, Craigslist, Local Housing Authority, and Military for sale by Owner and others. It has been 3 weeks , and I have not received much feedback. I need to get a tenant soon because this is eating up my pockets. I want to know do rental property managers market properties on their sites, for a fee, even if they will not be the manager? Or, is it possible to find a good property manager for 5% of the total cost of the monthly rental in Suffolk, VA?

Michael,

Sadly you get what you pay for and I have never heard of any property managers coming down to 5% on a single family house.  

You say that you are under water, but what you have to look at is the tax perspective, if you hire a property manager and yo have an accountant that knows how to do a deprecation schedule the negative that you have on your property income will reduce your tax bracket thus you would possible get a larger return.  I had an owner go to japan and he was concerned because we had to rent the property for what his mortgage was and after paying me and having an accountant here do his deprecation schedule he actually broke even, plus when the hurricane came threw and blew his roof off I was here to get the roof replaced and he didn't have to worry about anything.

Also the quality of the property, location and list price of the house determines the speed in which the property is rented. I can have a 2300 sQFT beautiful house but if it is not in a desirable neighborhood it is going to sit there.

@Michael Mcdaniel  

Welcome to Biggerpockets. I do not know of a property manager in Virginia Beach who will just place a tenant. If they do full management in my experience it is 10% a month and one months rent to place. Don't quote me as I self manage in Virginia Beach.