New landlord question on tenant screening

10 Replies

Hi,

I am a newbie investor and seeking advice on placing a tenant in our first investment property.

I have a potential tenant who is willing to pay rent for the month of November despite the fact that he will also have to pay rent at his current apartment because he really doesn't want to lose the new place. He tells me he cannot pay the damage deposit too, however, until December 1st. The background and credit check and reference from previous landlord checks out. I am considering leasing him the place with the contingency that he must pay December rent and the damage deposit on December 1st or else he will need to leave (evict). Basically he's asking for a month to provide the damage deposit. Thoughts?

Thank you,

Dan

I never let anyone move in without paying the security deposit and first month's rent in full. Once he moves in, there is no incentive to pay you and you really don't want to have to deal with an eviction.

Keep looking for a tenant and if the place is still available when he comes up with all the money, then you can rent to him.

@Dan Timmons  

We have a very strict - no keys until security deposit and first month's rent has been received.

Did you go back further than the current landlord for a reference?  Did you check with employers to confirm he earns 3x rent (or more)?  Did the applicant provide bank statements?  If he has been planning this move, I would think he'd have his quarters rolled.

If is he well vetted, then go ahead and accept him, but try the following:

If it is legal in your area, I would be more inclined to have him pay a "holding fee" for November (it may be the amount of rent, or less, your call) and have the lease start December 01 ... and not give him keys, nor allow him to move any items into the unit, until you have the deposit and first month's rent.