Eviction help

16 Replies

ok I am a newbie and made a major error.  I bought a property at auction with the owner still in it.  Property was deeded to husband and wife but wife no longer resides there.  Had the sheriff serve them both nail and mail. Got an eviction for Oct 14.  Husband did not move. Paid sheriff to evict today, Oct 16.  Sheriff arrives and husband and another party are now in possession.  In the last 10 days, he moved someone in.  I didn't put "and all others" on the dispossess.  New party claims that everything in house is his which is a flat out lie.  But, now I am told that I have no other choice to re file.  Went to court and refilled today.  I am so confused at this point.  Sheriff says can't evict because order just says husband and wife.  But won't evict husband as per the order.  Is there any way to get rid of this loser sooner?  I got a judgment but it is worthless since he has no job.

I am in Georgia.  Also is a sheriff even necessary?

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.  I have sure learned some lessons in this process.

Thanks.

Yes you absolutely need the sheriff involved in GA.  My advice is keep doing what you're doing and use the court.  You just have to be patient at this point and let the system work. The sheriff will not get involved in the eviction process if there's any question of the legality of the order or a question about who in the home is to be evicted.  Once you have another hearing, or actually get the writ of possession with or without a hearing (depending upon what the people in the home do as far as filing an answer) then you should be able to go forward.  Once the judge issues the order for the husband and any and all others in the home, they will remove them by force if necessary.