Newbie here.....with questions

9 Replies

Hello everyone, I just closed on my first rental property (duplex) in the DFW area. Biggerpockets has given me the motivation and courage to step out into REI. Reading and listening podcasts, posts and blogs has given me a good baseline to research and analyze possible deals. So thanks for everyone being open to sharing their experience (good and bad) on BP, it really helps individuals like me to get started.

One of the units I inherited one tenant, who has lived there for 4 years and I'm in the process on screening tenants for the other side.  I do have a few questions as a first time landlord......

1. The current tenant would like to split her payments, how do or can I accommodated her request, because the current lease agreement does not specify split payments?

2. I'm open to HUD approved applicants for the vacant unit and one applicant applied but she is approved for a 1 bedroom 1 bath apartment at $750 a month. My unit is a 2 bed 1 bath and below her approved amount, how will HUD view this if the paperwork is submitted?

3. Also, my wife and I will tackle this new venture together, so if anyone has any suggestions on how we approach this to maintain a healthy relationship, please feel feel to post them.   

@Jason L.  

Great job!  Congratulations.