How To Obtain Criminal Report For A Tenant

20 Replies

Hi Bigger Pockets,

I need some help!!! I need to know how do I go about obtaining a criminal report for a potential tenant I am considering renting to. I've tried contacting the local police department to no avail. I know this is something I should have implemented a long time ago but just did not know how to go about doing so. Any input is greatly appreciated.  Happy investing

Thanks

Bridget

Hi, as a Realtor, I have used the following service ( the prospective tenant should pay the fee for the search): https://www.tenantbackgroundsearch.com/
It is a comprehensive search that includes eviction history as well as criminal records
Check it out

Hi yes it does include credit scores.  Checkout a sample report on the website

In Oklahoma, we can go to a website (www.oscn.net) that provides records of any court actions (traffic infractions, bankruptcies, sued by lender, domestic abuse, etc.) for all 77 counties.  Its records go back to the 1980's.

I know that doesn't help you in NY, but they may have something similar there.

Virginia records are public as well.  Try googling (yup I used it as a verb) court cases for your state. 

Thanks guys. Jim ... my rentals are in North Carolina. So any thing in this jurisdiction would help. The issue I have at hand is should I rent to an convicted felon?? I know this sounds a bit strange but I am baffled by the situation as well. I approved a rental application not knowing that one of the occupants will be coming straight from a correctional facility into my rental!!!! The applicant failed to tell me that one of the occupants who will reside at property is currently in jail. The charge is obtaining property under false pretense/ forgery.   So many thoughts...but don't know what to do? Any advise?

@Chris Martin  might've able to tell you how to do criminal backgrounds in NC. 

Thanks Guys ....theses sites seem to be a great starting point.