Sample Notification to Tenant of Late Payment Due on Rent? Certified Letter?

11 Replies

Rent is due on the 1st of the month. The lease allows for a grace period up to the 5th. The lease also states that after the 5th, there is a $25 late fee and after the 10th of the month, there is an additional $25 late fee imposed. The tenant has not paid as of today. It is their first time paying late but I do not want to set a certain level of tolerance for allowing anyone to pay rent late esp with a grace period in tact.

I now need to notify the tenant that rent is past due and there will be $25 fee imposed. What is the best way to notify the tenant of this? Do I have to do it via a certified letter? Are there certain guidelines since the property is located in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania in sending out the notice? Is there certain verbiage that I should use in the letter to the tenant since I have never done this before (any sample letters would be a great help!)?

Hi Jessica,

Long as the lease states everything you mentioned no need to send out an additional notice.

I would make an effort to call them first and formost and find out what is going on. If they have never been late maybe something serious is going on? Anyway I would reach out to them and when you speak to them remind them that as per signed lease the total outstanding balance is XXX(rent) plus a 25.00 late fee.

FIrst things first give them a call and speak to them.... If you are unsuccessful in reaching them and it gets to be past the 10th I would follow up with a registered letter informng that it is the 10th and you have not heard from them or received December rent so you have no choice but to file Judgement for possession based on non payment of rent. Not sure in PA what the actual filing is called but here in NJ it is called Judgement for possession.

good luck,

Chris

good luck,

Chris