Huge problem - what do I do in this situation? NYC

21 Replies

I'm the landlord and I rent an apartment out. Someone left a security deposit and we signed that she owes the first months rent on move-in date. We agreed on the date and the address of the apartment.

Now two days after the open house and after I tell everyone else they can not have the apartment - tenant calls and says that I have to return her security deposit because her boyfriend got another place.

We are in New York City. The problem is that I am no longer in the city and specifically came to rent out the unit.

In our lease it does not say refundable or non-refundable. Only security deposit. She says since it didn't say refundable I am required to give it back. 

Anyone know what to do? 

Can you explain further in detail about the contract? When was it signed ?when did she ask for a refund? What was the contract?..month to month or a year long contract? I am not a lawyer. But she may be on the hook for the entire year. And in your case maybe you could have her find a replacement tenant to cover her loss. Good luck. 

My lease and local rules might be different than yours,  but I'd tell he tenant that they owe money for rent until I  find another qualified tenant. No,  the deposit is forfeited for breaking the lease. 

Sounds like you don't have a lease contract? Did I read that right?

Sounds like you don't have a lease contract? Did I read that right? If she signed a lease then he/she is on the hook.

We signed the contract two days ago. She left only the security deposit and I told her she can drop the first month off when she moves in. It's a month to month contract.

@Patrick Donohue  

She signed a month to month lease, so she has to give you 30 days notice. Sounds to me like she owes you for 30 days, starting on the day the contract starts. I would charge her for the first month's rent and give her back whatever the balance is.