Will a ductless split system work in an apartment complex?

5 Replies

Hi folks.  I am looking at an apartment complex that has a forty year old boiler/chiller system that will cost up to $125K to replace.  One option is to replace it with a split ductless systems, which may cost as much, but will be as little as half the energy cost when complete.  Does anyone have experience with this to recommend options, and what to stay away from?

V/R

I am a class A hvac mechanic and contractor, and there is no right or wrong way to heat/cool a bldg.

You got 40 yrs out of your old system, and a new one should last another 40.

Ductless splits will last 10-15 years, if someone does not steal the outside units. Plus, ever seen what a power surge or a brownout can do to a mini split? It isn't pretty.  They get that high efficiency from a Lot of sensitive, expensive components.  Its like comparing a semi truck to a Honda, both are built really well, but one is a lot heavier duty than the other.

I would recommend bite the bullet, and get the boiler/chiller combo. There are some really high efficiency units out there now, that can almost compete with mini splits.

Plus, you have control over when heat/cool season starts /ends with the b/c system.

Hope this helped.

Hi Steve,

Thanks! This does indeed help.  I have not bought the property yet, and need to see if I can negotiate this with the seller.  I don't believe I should pay for deferred maintenance when the property owner had the opportunity to depreciate this, so this is a point for us to come to terms with.  Many thanks, much appreciated!

Well, I'm not an HVAC expert, but I do like the mini's, I would think the electrical system could be sufficiently fused and backed up to protect the electronics, I've not had an issue but haven't really used mine too much either ( a cabin retreat). I expect 20 years out of the Mitsubishi. Any future replace of a zone won't break the bank.