Tenant prior address history, not matching application info?!

18 Replies

I'm renting an apartment in an area where bad credit applications are typical. Got an applicant who presents professionally and has a good income. Was strongly considering the app, but did a complete background check through MyRental.com. This is my first time checking anything but credit. The service provided a previous address history with dates, and is showing 4 addresses in the past 3 yrs that were not listed on the application. (This is in addition to the two addresses that were listed on the application.) Credit report shows some of these same additional addresses.

Any idea if these histories are accurate? Is it possible for them to be coming up because a separated spouse lived? Any suggestions on what to do with this info?

I looked up all 4 addresses, all are small multi-families, like the one I'm renting. I was only able to get a phone number for one, and no one is answering that line.

He is staying at each place for less than one year that is a red flag. He tried hiding that fact it appears by only listing two.... Red flag #2. Not able to get in touch with anyone/bad #'s from previous land lords... Red flag #3.

Unless you are desperate I would keep looking. You could ask him about it. But I don't think he'll be honest if he hasn't thus far. 

You know what they say three strikes you are.... out!

*separated spouse lived there?

@Ryan Dossey

Thanks! I'm inclined to agree. Glad I'm running this additional check now.

Just want to be sure that this info is accurate, and that it couldn't be due to the addresses of a separated spouse or some other error. 

Anyone have experience with these address histories?

I've come across this, and actually with my newest tenant. She owned a home for 15 years and it went into foreclosure. The address trace showed 4 other addresses which were not on her application. Her license matched her home address.