Nashville, TN - Single family & duplex rental properties

12 Replies

Hey guys,

I've been scoping out some duplex properties and I've finally found one I'd like to purchase. My realtor tells me it's occupied on both sides (my understanding is that they both have a year lease).  He suggests I buy the property, pick a side I like, review the leases, and give one tenant a 30 day notice to vacate.  

1) Is this legal???  I have no idea when their leases end, but it seems they'd have to honor the current lease, or at least have the right to stay till the end of the lease.  (Unless the lease becomes void if the owner sells the property)?

2) If it is legal, is there some moral line I'm crossing??  I realize it's a business and an investment, but has anybody had the awkward/unpleasant experience of kicking someone out before moving in??

New to all of this.. I know people do it everyday but it seems like kind of a low blow.

Thanks BP !

I'm no lawyer but I'm under the impression that the lease transcends owners and must be honored even if the property changes hands.  Everything I've read comes to this conclusion.

@Dan Sifuentes       

Yea, I'll have to clarify the terms...maybe I'll get lucky and find out the lease is up in a couple months haha 

Thanks man!

Your agent should be able to find out the lease terms from the selling agent with a phone call.  Most of the time the lease terms are actually on the RealTracs buyer listing report.  It should say something like Monthly or Yearly.  If either tenant is on a monthly lease then you should just be able to give a 30 day notice to vacate once you close on the property.

I'm pretty new at this as well but I've had to go through a few agents to find someone knowledgeable about rental properties.  Most agents are used to people buying personal residences.  I would recommend finding a good agent that's already knowledgeable about finding and evaluating investment properties.