Want long-term renter & how to get new renter in day or two after last one leaves

10 Replies

I'm trying g to learn and fix the mistakes I've made in the past and need some advice.

1. How can I rent to someone who will stay more than one year? My rent is fair, the house is well kept up, it's in a nice neighborhood.  Each renter leaves for different reasons.  How do I choose one that will stay for a while?

2. I want to move new renters in as soon as possible after my current renters leave the end of May. How do I screen people before I show them the house? I don't want to disturbe the current tennents by  showing the house many times.  I also don't to show the house to people who are not qualified. 

3. The way I find renters is to put a "For Rent" sign in the yard and includes in a box with info. flyers.   I always get a good response. Is there a better way to get the type of renters that I want?

Hi Susan,

Welcome to BP!  I am not a property manager, but heres my experience.

1. you can't choose a renter who is going to stay for a while, I have done in the past where if a renter gives me a notice and I really liked them as tenants, I've discounted the rent $25-$50 depending on the area to encourage them to stay, market rent and the time they're leaving (its easier to find tenants in the summer than during the school year where I am at), some have stayed, some still left.  I figure the $25 loss a month is better than having a tenant leave, repaint, clean, and any other maintenance that needs to be done, not including trying to find a good tenant to replace that person.  It is always cheaper to keep a tenant than to get a new one