Mysmartmove or regular credit check?

4 Replies

We have two different parties interested in the apartment in our duplex.  We were initially going to use Mysmartmove for credit/background checks but as I have never used it before I am not sure if it will be sufficient.  One woman is a single grandma and when we mentioned we would be doing a credit check she openly admitted that her credit score was bad.  She did not get into why but said that her income mostly comes from a commercial property that she has a partial interest in.  For a case like this, will Mysmartmove give us enough information or do they only provide partial information on the credit report?

MySmartMove provides complete credit reports and scores. I use them exclusively and have been very happy with their service, mostly because the tenant can pay them directly and I don't have to deal with having my office inspected in order to run credit and background checks.

That being said, I don't place a lot of weight on credit reports anymore.  Everyone seems to have bad credit to some degree, at least in my tenant pool.  I glance at it and make sure they don't have a ton of very recent debt, but other than that it's just another piece of the puzzle, and a small piece at that.

In your situation I would be more concerned about her income, and if what she's saying is true, I would require bank statements and/or tax returns to prove just how much income she is making from this investment. 

MySmartMove - been using it for a few yrs now. we like it. try it and you will see.

one drawback - tenants HAVE to verify their credentials in order for you to get the report. sometimes people dont have email. yes, even in 2015 they dont have email.

Hello @Tawny Bloom