Question on how to deal with problem tenants

10 Replies

Hi everyone,

I am very new to land lording and have a question on how you would deal with the following problem tenants I recently inherited when I purchased a triplex. 

I have two tenants, call them A and B, who can't seem to get along.  Tenant A routinely complains about tenant B making noise, blocking the driveway, and having multiple people over, and when I recently brought it up with tenant B and asked them to keep it down and generally be more neighborly, as stated in the lease, they complained about tenant A harassing them and acting aggressively.  Given the number of complaints I've received from tenant A, I recently gave tenant B a 7-day notice to quit.  Tenant A is now threatening to move out due to being unable to live next to Tenant B.  I'd rather he didn't do so since he has been a good tenant.  My question is what do you think the best route would be to get rid of the disruptive tenants?  Is it worth pursuing an eviction or would I be better off offering cash for keys?  Unfortunately, their lease doesn't expire until November.

Thanks in advance for any help!

I advise you to stop caring. If they pay their rent and dont mess your house up ( aka violate terms of the lease)...not your problem. You are not a babysitter, you are a landlord. Tell them to call the police id they have something illegal happening to report.

Thank you Seth.  This is probably what I needed to hear.  Again, I'm new to this and admittedly learning the ropes.

If you believe that Tenant A is really a good tenant, and not a tenant who is just a complainer, and that Tenant B really is the problem, then I'd first continue with getting rid of Tenant B.

Then, I'd tell Tenant A that I'm working on the problem with Tenant B, but if they want out of their lease now, I completely understand, and I will waive notice and let them out of their lease whenever they want to go.  And I'd offer to put that in writing.