Tenant 500 miles away wants to rent sight unseen...new job

29 Replies

This is my question.   What is the best way to have him send first and last months rent?  Overnight mail?  FedEx?    My plan was to have him email back signed lease, then send back hard copy of signed lease with check in overnight mail.   (By the way, is overnight mail really overnight?)   There is a lot of interest in this property, but I see his reason for taking it fast.  (He does not have a car and his employer -- a university -- is right up the street.)

I am a rookie landlord and never encountered this before.   FYI, he gave me his full name and current employer and all that.    I just want to know the best and fastest way to get papers and the rent.

Thanks!

@kate b. I would be very careful their are alot of scams. I would contact the university directly to verify his employment.

Honestly for the amount of risk that this entails I would not rent to him. Find a local applicant.

Do you have a completed application form? Have you run a credit check? Do you have evidence of photo ID?

Personally I would never rent to someone sight unseen. You have to assess their character and get a sense of what a landlord-tenant relationship would be like with them. I see this as a risky situation. There are tenants without this drama and it should not be hard to find them. If you are a new landlord you should be risk averse unless you have lots of money for lawyers fees, to unpaid rent and intervening mortgage payments, etc. Be careful.

Make sure you run credit and verify all sources of income etc. Then email the lease and have him overnight the app fees and deposit in certified funds.  That will 'hold' the property.  When he gets in town, he can pay the prorated rent in certified funds as well.