Buying Condos for rental properties ?

14 Replies

There is a condo unit near by that has a few "nice" units for about 60k,  I have enough money saved right now to buy two of them with 20% down...... However has anyone had any success renting condo's ?  I know most places have a % of how many can be rented, so I would need to check into this first I suppose.

The area is getting about 1100-1300 a month in rent on a two bedroom. We are near a military base which I work at so I know I can rent them quickly and pretty much know I will get paid each month.

condo fees are 180.00 a month there.

I have a single family rental home right now, and it's currently paying for itself, I will up the rent at next signing of lease, then I'll be making some off of it finally.

I am new to investing and want to start off  as safe as possible before jumping into a three family...   Would anyone recommend buying condo's ???

I have always avoided condos because of the HOA fees. That said, I just bought two townhouses....not ton's of true condo's in my market. After finding out that the HOA fee is $100/unit, regardless of size, and that there had never been a special assessment, I decided at near $30,000 each, I could not resist. I just picked up two 3 bed, 2 bath units.

Before doing so, I discussed matters with the guy that runs the HOA and even attended an HOA meeting. I confirmed there were no restrictions on rentals and in fact confirmed that since the downturn, as homeowners were facing foreclosure, investors were snapping up these units and now account for 2/3 of the units.

I am now working to identify a group of investors that will control a majority of the development and thus the HOA by voting rights so that we can control special assessments and such.