posted 3 day pay or quit and then accepted partial payment?

8 Replies

So, I have heard bad things about posting a 3 day pay or quit and then accepting a partial payment.  I understand that I can't proceed with a dispossession now that I've accepted partial payment (if they don't pay the rest as was indicated).  I understand I would need to sue for the payment.

Do I need to wait until July to start the process over again? 

@Justen Ashcraft I would suggest you consult a real estate attorney in your market, or the market the property is located in. Every state has a different landlord-tenant law. You need to understand the landlord-tenant law including the ramifications of accepting partial payments, if such applies. 

I am not a lawyer, nor do I play one on TV, but from Avvo re: GA evictions, here it is for what it is worth:

A residential landlord has a duty to accept a payment from a tenant who is in default if and only if the tenant tenders “all rents allegedly owed plus the cost of the [eviction]." [1] However, the tenant cannot wait until the last moment to do this. They must tender the full payment within seven days of the day they were served the eviction paperwork. [2] There is no need to worry about a tenant doing this perpetually because a landlord is only obligated to accept this type of payment once per year. [3] Making this payment provides a complete defense to the eviction and, upon receipt, a landlord should dismiss the eviction.