Just closed on 7 Unit with Undermarket Rents... Advice For Reaching Tenants?

14 Replies

Hi All,

Well, thanks to this blog, I decided it was time to dump the negative cash flow condo by the beach for a 7 unit multifamily that will cash flow about $100/ door with the under market current rents.  I just closed and now I'm trying to figure out how to handle the current tenants.

The place was run pretty casually by a doctor and his wife who were friends with the tenants. I want to write a letter of introduction to each of the units letting them know we run a tight, professional ship. I'd also like to have them all fill out new "Applications" (as I have no idea who has what background) and they are all on month to month leases. 

Anyone have any good advice about how to introduce myself and some of the first steps to take now that I'm a multi-unit landlady? :)

Congrats on your purchase!  When we have taken over a property we have given a letter to identify ourselves with full contact information for management purposes.  I generally go to the door with the letter in hand and introduce myself.  If you can have the previous owner include a transition letter that also helps.  

I assume you have reviewed the current rental agreements.  If there are changes you want to make a simple 30 day notice should suffice. If you did not receive the original applications then you would certainly want that info in order to extend any current resident.  I wouldn't start by telling them you will be stricter.  I would just respond quickly and professionally to any contract violations. The message will become evident. 

Being proactive, gracious and professional should keep early turnover to a minimum.

Good luck!

@Drey Stockert I'm happy for you! Awesome opportunity.

Yes, as @Curtis Bidwell said face to face introductions are a must. The current tenants will naturally want to know about rent increases. Have that speech ready to go.