Tenant demanding I bring in pest control for ants

13 Replies

I have a tenant in a ground floor aparment with a minor ant issue. I plan on getting it resolved as soon as I can, but I'm looking for insight into whether the best course of action would be to call in an exterminator now, vs taking care of it myself, which is how I've always gotten it done in the past.

My tenants leaves food for her cat every morning, and has found ants crawling over the cat food for the third time in two weeks. She is DEMANDING that we bring in an exterminator. She gets very emotional with anything regarding her cat.

My regular process for ants is baiting and Tarro, but they haven't taken the bait yet. I believe they are simple sugar ants, but I'm not an expert. My next step would be to get some insect guard around the house. Additionaly, there is some caulking that should be done in the apartment anyway, so I want to try to seal it up better regardless.

I'm hesitant to bring in a professional at this point, but I'm not sure if my pre-disposition against that idea is correct or not. My reasons being:

• Might take time to get it right, i.e might not be that much more affective than doing it myself
  • Harsh chemicals throughout the yard.
  • cost/time

Is her request for immediate exterminator reasonable?

Doesn't matter how much you caulk it won't stop them, chemicals will wash away, my bug guy charges me 40 bucks for an outside spray...The problem is the food...The cat must not be eating the food right away or is leaving something in the bowl.  Sounds like to me she needs to be educated and feed the cat and clean the bowl versus leaving it out...I have a dog and this happens to me and my home is sprayed monthly...It only happens when we get lazy and don't clean the bowl properly.

Personally,  i would spray, then ask her about what i mentioned above.

Try the Home Defende spray from the big box stores, and spray the exterior perimeter to keep the ants away.