Property Taxes

6 Replies

Hello BP, I am a novice investor and was intrigued by the idea of becoming a landlord. I see that you could make good money in this particular field but I had one obstacle that I simply don't understand. For example lets say you buy a single family house and the mortgage is $600/month and you rent it out for $1000/ month. So now you'll say wow $400/month positive cash flow!!! But the only thing now is that you have to pay for property taxes. Lets say in the area for your house, the property taxes are $5,000 a year. That now leaves you with a -200/month cash flow. I simply just don't understand how one can make money on a property when property taxes are more than your rental income profit. If anyone could please help, I would like some advice or guidance on how abouts to fix this problem. Thanks

Also, I meant -$200 for the year not monthly.

hello @Dom Lombardo ,

Normally your property tax is included in mortgage payments if you have a mortgage. For example my New Jersey house property taxes are $4700 a year with a mortgage balance of $220k and monthly mortgage payment of $1560. I am renting it out at $1600. I know $40 cash flow isn't attractive but before I was adding $500 on top of rent to make mortgage payment. This is the first home my wife and I purchased at the height of bubble and now upside down. We were able to refinance which lowered our mortgage payments $500.

Basically when looking at properties you want to account for all expenses; mortgage payment, property taxes, homeowners ect. So make sure the rent will cover all expenses and leave you with with a few hundred a month in cash flow.