how to estimate monthly rent income?

7 Replies

I am new to investing. I have been looking for deals through the MLS and making a preliminary analysis using rentometer.com to estimate the average rent of units in that area. I do not have a rentometer pro account and I am only able to pull 10 comps a day. This has really been limiting my data crunching abilities. How do more experienced investors estimate the rent they expect to receive on MLS listed properties?

@Bryan Blancke , there are several things you can do.

Other than rentometer, zillow has its own rent estimator. It's not always accurate but it gives you the ball park. You can also search on zillow for properties for rent in the area your are interested in and get a sense how much they are renting for.

You can use craigslist or some other for rent websites the same way.

If you want to take one step further, you can talk to property management companies in the area. They are usually on top of the market rents in areas they serve.

Hey @Bryan Blancke !

Welcome to the wild world of REI. So the easiest way to get an idea for rental rates is to see what an agent has imputed into the MLS system if the property is already a rental.

As you probably have already realized, some units are under rented.  To get a better idea of what rents go for in your investing area area, I'd suggest using the search feature on craigslist. 

Start out by researching 2 bedroom 1 bathroom apartments. Just like with anything there will be a range of prices, some really crappy and some really nice...  Find your average rental rate by adding up all the results that come on the first page and divide by the total number of units on that same page.  It'll give you a base line of where to go from there.

When we are looking at new property (which seems like always) we tend to estimate on the low side just to be safe. Then once we own the property if we can rent it for more - even better.