Using a Home Warranty company on a rental

13 Replies

Just putting out the feelers.  I currently have a home warranty on my rental home that I am considering dropping.  I have had them for about three years, but have only had to use them once and it turned into a headach and required a pretty good deductible.  I have had the same renters in the home for the past three years and they seem to truely care for the home.   I wanted to see if other investors use a home warranty company for their rentals or if there is a good formula that takes into account the age of the home when considering if using a home warranty company is in my best interest.  I appreciate any feedback.

Thanks,

Philip

@Philip Mullinax - Yes, I use home warranty on all of my rentals. I have been doing this for 2 years and find it to be financially rewarding, efficient and their response time is good.

I am contracted to two home warranty companies and use that as a negotiating tool when the during renewals.

I don't have to worry about any internal issues and each call is either $60 or $75 per vendor contract.

I see it as an insurance policy, coupled with the fact that it saves money based on the amount of calls received for AC/heating, plumbing, electrical and appliance issues to name a few.

I am very happy with their service and will continue to use them. 

I am a long distance investor and the warranty service is a plus for me.

I believe they are a waste of money. The chances of ever using them is actually very slim. The insurance companies make a killing on these types of policies.