First Time Working with a Tenant

5 Replies

I am a Realtor in Vermont. I will be listing a home for a client but they have a person that is currently renting the property. The owner is lives several hours away and has asked me to take care of the exit process. The tenant is a good tenant who has paid their rent on time and has been informed that the property is going up for sale. I have never done something like this before so I was hoping one of you experienced land lords could guide me on a procedure. Here is what I have so far

Meet with Tenant and walk through property

Get  the keys from the Tenant after we discuss what we found in the walkthrough.

Give the tenant their damage deposit minus anything that we should charge them for (as discussed in step 2.)

Is there anything I am missing?

are they still within their lease, or have a clause stating a notification period to renew or end the lease?

how is this being sold, as a rental, or to someone who will make it their primary residence?

if they are still within the lease, I think most states would say that the lease is still in effect after the property sale.

if damages are greater than the security deposit, you may also want to take photos, as they come in handy if you need to go to court. 

If you're terminating the lease or rental agreement, look up the Vermont laws regarding terminating a lease and the security deposit laws, and follow them.

And talk to them about how you can sell them a house, so it doesn't happen again to them :-)

Promotion
Guaranteed Rate
Guaranteed Rate is a top mortgage lender
Save $1,290 on your next home – no lender fee*
Get special perks like $1,290 in lender fee savings when you buy a second home with Guaranteed Rate.
Apply Now