Collecting rent with a credit card

21 Replies

Hi Newbie here!

I was curious as to whether any landlords (residential) accept credit cards as payment and any pitfalls they have had.

I understand that it isn't the same as cash but...

Thanks.

:mrgreen:

be cautious as chargebacks can be incredibly expensive as can merchant processing fees.

say for instance being charged 3%+ $0.25 per transaction:

rent: $1000
fees: $30.25

if you are only cashflowing $100 per door as it is, you have just given 30% away in fees to accept that payment. not good in my book! also, that is not including other fees (ie, statement fees, batch fees, terminal fees, etc) that may be associated with accepting cc's

Thanks Josh

We looked into it, and found it to be too expensive as well.

While the convenience is very attractive, I am just not sure it makes financial sense.

I've considered accepting paypal as a means for rent. A tenant can use their credit card with paypal. If I were to implement it, I would charge a premium back to the tenant to cover the paypal charges/fees, however.

What if these fees were lower? Would you use some kind of online service for the convenience?

If I worked with middle/upper class rentals again I would.

For the lower/middle income blue collar folks, I am not sure if they would utilize it.

What does everybody else think?

I have read that some managers/owners of multi unit properties will work with on line payments or cc's.

These are upscale properties with amenities like access to web and cable TV, pools, gyms, etc. They charge for each service use by the tenant. The entire property then reports "takings" to their mothership business via the internet connection to the company books.

There is no reason a SFH rental corp with only a few properties could not do the same. You would have to set your website up to provide and bill for the on line service convenience. Hey no stamps! And no chance of being late.