Big Deal on Screening Tenants!!

25 Replies

Good afternoon BP I hope everyone is doing good today. For those who don't know me I sum up who I am and why I'm on BP real quick, then I'll ask my question.

My name is Carlos Rodrigues and I'm new to this real estate industry but currently studying it and taking ongoing courses for my real estate license. I here so I can keep gaining knowledge in real estate, and ask questions i need guidance on. I'm yet to purchase my first property but I will real soon and I'll be talking about it when the time comes. I first want to have unanswered questions answered so when the time comes I'm ready. Thank you in advance for helping me out, its appreciated.

Okay now to my questions and concerns on screening tenants. I have read BP guidelines on screening and a few other threads, and I definitely learned what people are doing to screen there future tenants.

I'll share what I've learned below, and please add to the list:

- Have a standard on what I'm looking for in a tenant 

- Pre-screening over the phone

- Use good judgement off first impression (how they carry themselves, car they drive, etc)

- Have them fill out a application forms, stating personal info (ss# & DL), rental & employment history

- Background check

- Credit check

- Eviction History

- Get a co-signer?

- Income 3x the rent

- References

(please add on)

1. All this is great to do when screening tenants. But now my issue is I'm not hiring a property management to do this all for me, I'm doing it myself. I'm in New Jersey and trying to purchase in Elizabeth NJ and lease there. And now my question is since giving a application isn't a common thing from what I think, how do I just give them a application and ask them to fill all there personal info. Do I give it to them before or after them seeing the property or only if they're interested in moving in?