Number of people living in a 2 BR rental

12 Replies

I am a newbie and trying to get some advice regarding how many adults and children can comfortably live in a 2 BR, 1.5 bath rental unit in a duplex. Any guidelines? If there are too many people who want to live there, can I make my uniform criteria across the board that only certain number of people can live there. Would it be violating any laws? Thanks to all BP members who help out and post very valuable information. I am learning a lot reading all the forum posts. I just wish I could read everything in BP. 

The HUD guidelines are 2 people per room plus one in the living room. So a 2 bedroom could house 5 people -- or more with a good bunking design :)

Your city/county may have local rules.

Just depends on the occupancy limits for where the property is.  In NYC, it's a crazy amount of people, for instance.  Only so many square feet required per person, and I think it even includes the kitchen.  Yikes!

One thing you can do, though, is limit your property on number of occupants, if you have a good reason - like your septic tank can only handle so many people, that kind of thing.

Originally posted by @Ally Kumar :

Thanks so much for valuable advice. I will check with my local housing authorities. 

I think it's the planning dept that manages those regs.

@Ally Kumar "comfortably" is quite relative  ;)

@Yvette M. is right, I've seen 2/room +1 spoken with reference to HUD though I've not seen the actual literature for it. For my units I do 2 per bedroom. It seems like everyone living in Colorado is issued a dog, so I just expect that has taken the +1 slot so I do not add that in.