inherit tenant in rental control area

20 Replies

I am buying a rental property at Bay Area has a tenant who is paying 20%-25% below the market. Due to the rental control law, I am planing continue with the term's the selling landlord. This is my first time to get a property with tenant, need some help on What are the steps I need to take to make the transition smoothly? What pit holes should I watch out?

In California you have to uphold the existing lease the current landlord has in place until the end of the lease then you can change them if allowed by law. If it's rent controlled then you should become very familiar with the rules before you buy and decide if you want to abide by them. If you don't then move on to another property.

Make yourself aware of the rent increase laws in that county. How often can you increase the rent? How much can you increase the rent? Also, find out if their are any fees associated with rent control such as the Rent Stabilization Ordinance (RSO) fee, which you may be able pass on to your tenants to pay each year.

Joe,

You'll have to honor the existing lease. I suggest you get an estoppel for each unit so there's no arguments later on. Talk to each tenant, if possible, to learn what is wrong with the building. Do they have any complaints? 

Is this property in San Jose? 3 units or more, which were built before September 7, 1979, are subject to rent control. Duplexes or less are exempt. 

20-25% below market is not bad. Hope you got a decent price for it. Given rents have plateaued in the last couple of years, You can catch up with the rent in the next few years with the allowable annual 5% rent increase. If you want to speed up the annual rent increase to 8%, study up on the capital improvement pass through. 

The CSJ recently passed Just Caused Eviction. I suggest you read up on their 12 Just Cause Evictions to familiarize yourself

Best of luck.

Originally posted by @Joe Xie :