First time renting out my home in Northern VA. What to expect

9 Replies

Good afternoon BP! This is my first time I will be renting out my home. My property is in Northern VA and i would like to ask the community what I should expect. I know i know i need to search more on the forums to get more info. Its been crazy with working 80-90hr work weeks. No excuses... but there has been alot going on. I wanted to see if there are specific things i should be looking out for or a list of what i should do. Basically the do's and dont's. Should i do property management, real estate agent (Don't want to really do this option), post myself, rent to military, etc) I appreciate all the positive feedback.

Best Regards,

Lou

@Luis Reyes

A lot of your questions depends on how much time and resources you want to commit to. e.g. if you plan to self-manage, how far do you live? can you show the houses? how handy are you? etc. Even if you find a PM company, you still need to manage your PM company. NEVER assume everything is ok.

Here're a few blogs that can point you in the right direction. Biggest thing is to screen for tenants

Tenant Screening: The Ultimate Guide

Make your house "tenant proof"

The New Landlord Checklist

Read and learn from other landlord mistakes

The Top 5 Landlord Mistakes

Tenant Applicants say the dumbest things

good luck! you can find a ton of resources here. 

I found at this time of year renting out room by room has been much easier than trying to rent a 2 bedroom unit to a couple or 2 friends.  People just seem to be looking for individual accommodations for themselves in November and December.