Ventless Dryer Experience

6 Replies

Hi,

I'm new to landlording and am so happy there is a place like this where I can post questions!

I'm getting a stackable washer/dryer for my unit and the laundry closet is quite small with a depth of 28 inches for the dryer. I only found a few dryers that are this small. Additionally, there is no dryer vent so I will have to add one and it will have to vent up, which according to my handyman is not recommended.

My question is -- does anyone have experience with ventless dryers? The benefit for me is that they'd fit more easily, and I could skip installing the dryer vent, but I see that they don't work as well.  I'm debating between these 2 dryers, one ventless and one traditional vented.

https://www.homedepot.com/p/LG-Electronics-4-2-cu-...

https://www.lowes.com/pd/GE-4-cu-ft-Stackable-Elec...

Thanks for any help,

-Leslie

If you are looking for 24" (compact sized), stackable laundry, Bosch or Miele are your best brands.  Blomberg units were once in this category (or near it), but have declined since manufacturing shifted from Germany to Turkey.

Whirlpool/Electrolux have recently introduced heat pump driven, compact dryers in North America, which is an interesting development ... if only their reliability / repair history were better.

Ventless (condensation or heat pump) dryers work well, but differently, than the more traditional in N.A. element driven dryers.  Yes, they take a little longer to dry clothes (which is why they are coupled with high-efficency / high-spin RPM washers), but use a fraction of the energy.

Thanks Roy! I would probably go with Bosch, then. Would you recommend these units over a traditional vented unit (like the GE one linked)? They're quite expensive, but maybe it's worth it not to have to install/clean laundry vents which might be more trouble since I'm venting out the roof.

Thanks!

@Leslie Chong