landlady not returning deposit

12 Replies

Hi,I am a student just graduated from school residing at NJ.My landlady gave me a notice of 30 days to vacate the house.We I meant me and my roomates vacated the same.I messaged her too that I have vacated the place and also cleaned it,when I asked about the security deposit she is not responding on the same.And she has not taken the keys from us.What should I do,its really a big amount she has with her.

@Sandra Shaji That is terrible. Sorry you are going through this. I would search the New Jersey Landlord Tenant laws and see what your rights are as a tenant. 

Our state in FL mandates that if we want to give all the money back, we have 15 days, but if we intend to impose a claim, we must do so within 30 days. Each state is different. I wish you the best of luck. 

@Jack Bobeck Thanks alot Jack,she has done this with the previous tenants as well,not returning the security deposit.

@Sandra Shaji The first meeting with most good real estate attorneys is FREE. I would send her correspondence via CERTIFIED MAIL that you are asking for the deposit to be returned, via the NJ tenant laws, and then say that you will follow up with an attorney next. 

The certified mail comes back to you with verification she saw it and builds your case against her. Take pictures, document what you did in the property, have a case to take action, if it goes that far. Protect yourselves. 

The question is: what is the legal time frame for her notice of intent to impose a claim or send a refund. In FL, for example, the landlord has 15 days to return the deposit if they are not making a claim. Did you give her a forwarding address?

when did you move out? if you just recently left, and it is no longer occupied, you may consider going back and taking photos as proof it is clean and not damaged. this should have been done before you left, and the legality of doing it now may be questionable.