Is honesty really the best policy?

32 Replies

Hey ya'll I am looking to get my first property and will be house hacking it. My question is whether I should let the tenants know that I am the owner of the property or tell them I'm just a manager.... I've heard nightmare stories about giving them your phone number and letting them know your the owner, but at the same time I don't believe a relationship built on lies will be a good one. What do ya'll think? Have you had any experience with this or what would you suggest? Thanks for taking the time to read this any and all comments are greatly appreciated because I really have been struggling with this.

First, they would be able to find out that you are the owner anyways if they decided to look at the public records (don't know why they would).  Seems like you would be creating an awkward situation if you actively lie to them.

Second, I don't know if it will save you any headache to simply say that you are the manager living next to them.  They will still be coming to you for everything that needs to be done (probably even changing a light bulb since you are right next door).

I think house hacking is a great way to get into investing, but you are going to have the headaches of living next to your tenants.  I would personally be honest with them if it ever comes up.  I wouldn't necessarily volunteer that I am the owner, but if they asked I wouldn't lie about it.

If you are managing it yourself, they will probably figure it out pretty quick especially if it is a small number of units.  You could also be non specific, if they have issues that you need to fix tell them to notify you, let them decide if you are the manager or the owner, chances are they will assume you are the manager if you only handle maintenance requests and weren't involved in vetting them when they moved in.