Are you a property manager?

7 Replies

I am a part-time property manager (15 apartments) in a small town of 5,000 population.  

And yet there are many many rental units here as we have a community college and we are the hub of this part of the state.

How do I acquire more clients?  How have you done it?

Start by identifing the rental properties in your area, research the owner via tax records and contact them.  You could also speak directly to the tenants to see if the property is being managed by the owner or another management company.  Careful not to step on another company's 'toes'--if you're in a small town, word gets around fast, both good and bad.

Good luck!

Marc Winter, Real Estate Agent

Thank you - I read through your advice and just wanted to say I think you're right on target!

I'm interested in trying what you suggested and seeing what transpires!

Upon further thinking about this and trying to be realistic - I'm guessing there are a variety of situations out there and anyone who owns property has to decide how they want to run their operation.

If they have a smooth running operation and there is little or nothing to do - they simply are not going to hire me.

If, on the other hand, they have some "problem" and "headaches" I think they will be running and not walking to hand over these problems and saying to themselves "this is not worth the stress and the headaches"

It takes a certain person and set of skills to be a cop or a principal in a rough school or a dorm residence hall manager or a bouncer at a bar and not everyone is cut out for that.

I'm not sure I want to deal with it either and that's probably what I'm looking at if I actively pursue this and go to the time, effort, and expense to deal with difficult people, criminals, conflict, evictions, and the legal system.

Thanks again and I appreciate your advice!

Originally posted by @John Murphy :

I am a part-time property manager (15 apartments) in a small town of 5,000 population.