Wood floors are scratched and tenant wants new floor

19 Replies

I purchased a house last February and rented it out to a tenant through the voucher program in August. The house is in decent shape but it has older, 1970s wood parquet flooring. The floors had a darker stain on them which is showing signs of wear/tear/scratches. I looked in to getting new flooring but it will be at least 2k which is not an expense I had budgeted for. I consider it purely cosmetic but my tenant keeps asking when the flooring will be replaced. I’m still new to this and think the floors can wait, thoughts?

Libby,

I have section 8 properties and if you take care of the tenants they will likely take care of you and be long term tenants.

I would say to them I can't afford it right now but if you will give me 6 months I will upgrade the flooring and give you a few choices to pick from. I would also add as long as no major unexpected repairs come up in case the A.C. or hot water heater were to die.

That should hold them short term. Maybe at the 5 month time show them a few affordable choices and let them go ahead and pick.

Be sure to follow through with what ever time frame you give them.

Difficult to refinish or replace flooring while tenants are in a place.

Did you make any promises to the tenant when she moved in? Was the floor in the same shape then? If she accepted the house this way then she really doesn't have the right to get the floors refinished. 

As to tenants taking care of you, that really changes from tenant to tenant and if someone is asking for extras now then they're likely going to start asking for more and more in the future. 

No....No..... and HELL NO...... the floor is not an essential item to offering a livable unit. If the issue is purely cosmetic, then hell no.....not a chance.

You are supplying a livable unit for them....on the VOUCHER program....you aren't building them their dream home.