Newbie here - what would you say is the single biggest problem

10 Replies

Hi all,

Just curious, what would you say is the single biggest problem that you face whilst managing multiple properties yourself?

Is it getting honest tenants or just the part of managing multiple showings while you are busy with other stuff?

Thanks,

Mark

@Mark Pitt The biggest problem people run into is, trying to do everything instead of outsourcing the weaknesses and doubling down on the strengths. 

Finding a good handyman.  The good ones don't need my unsteady work and I don't have enough work to bring it in house.

When multiple units are empty or in crisis at the same time.

Waiting and wondering and not being in control when tenants are in crisis.

I only have two tenants that are renting rooms in my primary SFR so it's pretty simple for me right now. Only a few concerns/annoyances.

1-Having a fluid rent payment system set up in regards to how and which bank account while juggling the mortgage/utility payments.

2-As @Michele Fischer posted, find a good handy man. I have a sewer line get clogged resulting in the kitchen sinks and washer sewer line to backing up. Spent the whole day (Sunday morning) trying to find a plumber to come out. I eventually found a local guy who came in 15 minutes, handled it quickly, and for an unbelievable price.

Now if I ever have plumbing problems again, I have a great peace of mind that I know who to call right away. Now I am on the hunt for a good handyman before I need them. 

@Kevin Phu @Michele Fischer @Patrick Hermans

Do anyone of you use any companies to manage maintenance requests? Is there like an uber like company that finds you people such as plumbers etc?

Are you guys just using excel sheets or some kind of automating onboarding company?