Cabinets first or flooring first?

31 Replies

I am working on one of my rentals and need to do the flooring and the kitchen cabinets. I am thinking vinyl planks for flooring, ones which glue, not the floating ones. What do you put first - cabinets or flooring? I think its cleaner if I get the flooring complete and put cabinets on it but I have never worked with vinyl planks before. Any advise from experienced members here would be helpful. Thanks!

When I did mine I put the cabinets in first.  You save yourself some square feet of flooring.

We did a tile floor and pulled the base cabinets out for that.

I would think it easier to do the flooring first if that's an option @Mona Verma Less cuts and fewer chances for mistakes and gaps!

Cabinets first. Then the flooring 

Thanks all for your inputs. Cabinets first would save some sq ft cost, is there any other reason to go in with cabinets first for glued vinyl planks?

Flooring first if you can. Especially if it is Vinyl. It will contain any potential leaks from a sink drain, dishwasher or fridge. It will alert a tenant to a leak by pooling water rather than letting the sub-floor absorb it.

If your using glue down do flooring first. You will be stuck to the same footprint if you do cabinets first. It will also effect your appliance heights. Exception would be floating floors, the weight of the cabinets could prevent them from expanding and contracting and could buckle them.

It would appear that I am wrong if it is floating vinyl- that it should not be placed under the cabinets... though there are many installers that say they install on top and it doesn't become an issue unless there are huge swings in humidity/temp...

I am about to lay some down, so we shall see ;)

If your unit is going to have a dishwasher it can be tricky to pull them in and out if your flooring does not go u set everything.

*does not go under everything.